a “bone-a-fido” miracle…

Well, we have had some drama going on here…drama with a big D….

We, conscientious dog owners that we are, took in our pup, the infamous Cavalier King Charles to get spayed, her name is Annie Blossom….the same day, we took in our adopted Golden Retriever, Rosie, to have all kinds of torture infliceted get her rabies shot.

We got a call this week, that Rosie had heartworm…the horrors!

Let this be a warning to, well, myself, and everyone else out there…in Oklahoma and places with mild climates where mosquitoes thrive…you MUST give your dog heartworm prevention year round…NOT JUST IN THE SUMMER MONTHS…

of course, you all probably knew that…

I, on the other hand, thought it was a summer only kind of thing, so my remorse was double, no triple, no quadruple….oh vain regrets of life…lambkin I still miss you…

Oh, that was another post…anyhoo….

I decided to take her in for a 2nd opionion, at a, hum, cheaper nicer place…

the other was going to charge 800 for treatment, whereas, this one was ONLY going to charge 600..

okay, at this point you are either in one of two camps:

  1. the price doesn’t matter, it is a life, your truly devoted dog….
  2. where I cum frum you shoot a dog if it gets sick

Truthfully, I must admit, I have in the past fallen into both camps…that is what country life does to you….it  makes you appreciate the gooduns and willing to shoot the baduns…if you have ever had a chicken eater, you know what I am talkin about…

if you haven’t, keep your smug thoughts to your superior self be thankful!

The vet called me to tell me the 2nd blood test came back negative and our BELOVE-UD dog has no heartworm!

Praise God!

(I can say that cuz I mean it, literally!)

But for those with inquiring minds, we were going to bite the bullet…my daughter Grace and I were going to split the bill between us….cuz, we love her…

she ain’t no chicken-eater!

One thought on “a “bone-a-fido” miracle…

Leave a comment