Perspective.

archaic

: an optical glass (as a telescope)

Origin of PERSPECTIVE

Middle English perspectyf, from Medieval Latinperspectivum, from neuter of perspectivus of sight, optical, from Latin perspectus, past participle of perspicere to look through, see clearly, from per- through + specere to look

First Known Use: 14th century
       I visited one of my hometowns this past weekend.  It was smaller than my memories.  My mind’s eye had focused upon aspects of the town and made them larger than reality.
       Our two story  home on Cleveland, across from East Jr. High, across from the tennis courts, used to seem so large.  For heaven’s sake, I used to mow that yard and it seemed to take forever!  Now three tall trees tower over the front yard almost as tall as the house itself.
       What used to seem like a half hour drive to the high school, is in reality, five minutes.  Tops.
And it made me reflect on perspective and how our memory can play tricks on us.  Twist.  Distort.
       It made me think of the many decisions I made while living there, in my youth.  The errors in judgement I made.  The outright sin I committed.
       And the weight of my guilt has always been like a freight train.  It has dogged me and pursued me all my adult life.  But going back there, the twist of the lens bringing everything into sharp focus, showers grace over my younger, imperfect self.  The freedom in Christ I have lately had to regain through battle was further strengthened by the grace I am embracing.  Are we sometimes our worst judges?
       My sister and I were speaking of what we would choose differently if we could have a Do-Over.  We both made pivotal decisions while living there that altered the course of our lives.
        In the end, we both decided we had learned from our experiences and wouldn’t want to go back to that time and live it over.
God redeems.
God restores.
God brings beauty from ashes.
And I will let Him.

6 thoughts on “Perspective.

  1. Thank you, Sarah…need this perspective too. You are such an amazing blessing! Love you, my friend, and so thankful for you…

  2. What a splendid layout and design for a website. I love it and I love the sentiments you express here. Wish more people could read them and get inside that complex head of yours. You have such a strong heart for the Lord.

    Love you so much. You bless me every day. Mom

  3. What a beautiful post, Sarah. Don’t let the enemy steal one moment of joy from your present and future over things from your past. “The old account is settled…long ago!” Love you, Kathy

  4. My Papa is hammering that home for me right now, thank you for being one of the nails pinning down the assurance of His finished work on the cross for me. I do love and appreciate you so much.

Leave a comment