Metaphor Monday…at One Thing…

I love the allegorical, the metaphor, the simile….most of mine are a reflection of our heavenly home vs. our temporal…this past week…Daisie’s gloxinia is sprouting new life again.

I didn’t think it was possible…I thought it was just going to happen the one time as a picture of hope that my Daddy God was painting just for me, for that moment.  To encourage me in my grief.  A severe contrast between death and life.

But it wasn’t just for that one moment…it is my Dear Daddy painting an ongoing picture with hues of mercy, love and rebirth…Psalm 19:1

The heavens are telling of the glory of God;

And their expanse is declaring the work of His hands.

From the unfathomable universe to the subatomic dancing of the very fabric of His creation, He paints the most glorious masterpieces that are a reflection of Himself.

So, my little dying dead gloxinia, (looks may be deceiving)

gloxinia-027

I noticed, is showing signs of new life, two little separate buds this time out of the one plant, last time there was only the one bud…it has multiplied…

 gloxinia-017

I am delighted to look forward to the spring when it is full grown and bursting with color and life once again…

gloxinia-028

Sunday night, the Lord led me to a shut-ins home, her name is Miss Patty…she has diabetes and has been bedridden for 21 months…she has to use a colostomy bag and her husband was changing it when we arrived…she welcomed us in anyway…her husband was changing her colostomy, cleaning it, he has arthritis in both hands, he is 65….faithfully tending to his wife’s needs…

One day, there will hopefully be new life for Miss Patty, for Miss Patty’s husband…when their seeds have been sown.

We each will be put to bed into the earth of this world…and the Promise is written, the grandest poetry ever conceived, by an intelligence that far exceeds any we know of….that there will be no 2nd death for those who put their trust in Christ, the Messiah…Immanuel, God in the flesh, who died for us “sinners.”

Revelation 20:11-15

Then I saw a great white throne and Him who sat upon it, from whose presence earth and heaven fled away, and no place was found for them.  And I saw the dead, the great and the small, standing before the throne, and books were opened; and another book was opened, which is the book of life; and the dead were judged from the things which were written in the books, according to their deeds.  And the sea gave up the dead which were in it; and death and Hades gave up the dead which were in them; and they were judged, every one of them according to their deeds.  Then death and Hades were thrown into the lake of fire.  This is the second death, the lake of fire.  And if anyone’s name was not found written in the book of life, he was thrown into the lake of fire.

I urge you, dust and withering grass, to take refuge in the One who loves you…that in Him you might have rebirth and everlasting life.

7 thoughts on “Metaphor Monday…at One Thing…

  1. Beautiful images. Muzzie’s orchid blooms year after year when it seems all is lost. The Great Divorce speaks of the possibility of a potentially lost soul having but a little spark that God can blow into a great holy flame. Some faith is compared to a grain as small as a mustard seed, little more than a period on a written page. And I believe we are atoms indeed kept in our Creator’s love. Small beginnings, time’s embryos waiting to be birthed in eternity.
    “Mold me and make me, after Thy will, as I am waiting, yielded and still.”

  2. I like that “Small beginnings, time’s embryos waiting to be birthed in eternity.”

    cool.

  3. I’m looking forward to that beautiful plant sowing it’s colors again – I didn’t know they did that. Very glad for the hope!

  4. Thank you for this. I’ve been on a blog visiting fast for a few days, but this, THIS is why I visit the places I do. For gems of encouragement that remind me people out there are looking up and pressing on. I count you my friend. With tears. (and you’re stuck with me then whether you like it or not) *grin*.

Leave a comment